What we do

We practice a system of traditional Japanese martial arts named Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu (武神館武道体術). This is a comprehensive combat system based on the natural movement of the body (Taijutsu), covering unarmed and armed combat techniques against one or multiple attackers.

The objective of the Bujinkan system goes beyond the development of skills in combat techniques. The real purpose of our art is to develop balanced human beings, fostering not only the physical body, but the mind and spirit as well. In this way we may be able to live in harmony with nature and our environment. The emphasis is on the protection of life, including self, others and nature.

There are no competitions or tournaments in the Bujinkan. Our system is focused on personal growth and development. It is a lifelong path. The traditional techniques and methods that we practice have been developed throughout hundreds of years and are effective in modern real life applications.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Bujinkan system was founded by Grandmaster Masaaki Hatsumi, dedicated to the teaching of nine traditional Japanese martial arts, some of which are more than 900 years old. Masaaki Hatsumi is the “Soke” or head of the 9 traditions of martial arts that form the Bujinkan, which are:

1. Togakure Ryu Ninpo – 戸隠流忍法

2. Kumogakure Ryu Ninpo – 雲隠流忍法

3. Gyokushin Ryu Ninpo – 玉心流忍法

4. Gyokko Ryu Koshi Jutsu – 玉虎流骨指術

5. Koto Ryu Koppo Jutsu – 虎倒流骨法術

6. Gikan Ryu Koppo Jutsu – 義鑑流骨法術

7. Shinden Fudo Ryu Dakentai Jutsu – 神伝不動流打拳体術

8. Takagi Yoshin Ryu Jutai Jutsu – 高木揚心流柔体術

9. Kuki Shinden Ryu Happo Hiken Jutsu- 九鬼神伝流八法秘剣術

Each of the nine schools of martial arts shown above have their own characteristic techniques, history and philosophy, but they are all taught together in a system called Bujinkan Budo Tai Jutsu.